A Cloakroom Assembly (2009) One Night on Stanwell Park Beach & Always Gentle

  • Download 5x Faster
  • Download torrent
  • Direct Download
  • Rate this torrent +  |  -

Torrent info

Name:A Cloakroom Assembly (2009) One Night on Stanwell Park Beach & Always Gentle

Total Size: 22.32 MB

Magnet: Magnet Link

Seeds: 2

Leechers: 0

Stream: Watch Full Movie @ Movie4u

Last Updated: 2010-10-05 05:55:08 (Update Now)

Torrent added: 2009-08-22 23:45:23

CyberGhost VPN For Torrents

Torrent Files List

One night on Stanwell Park beach..mp3 (Size: 22.32 MB) (Files: 3)

 One night on Stanwell Park beach..mp3

7.84 MB

 Distributed by Mininova.txt

0.28 KB

 Always gentling.mp3

14.48 MB

Announce URL:

Torrent description

"One Night on Stanwell Park Beach / Always Gentling"

A Cloakroom Assembly (ACRA) is a 'sound story' project by Michael Tee, ACRA first released material on M Squared in 1982 in Australia will be playing live in mid 2009. This material is available free as torrent files.

Michael Tee June 2009

I been making ‘public noise’ since 1979 in various collective outlets and collaborations such as Scattered Order, Ya Ya Choral, Monalisa Overdrive, The Barons, Pleasant Peasants, Volatile T-Shirt – usually outputting misunderstood and eclectic sounds, which have varied from the ‘very annoying’ to ‘very loud’ to ‘very twee/pretty’ to ‘snap crackle and pop’ to ‘ dumbass metal/rock’.

Someone who knows me very well has described me as a chameleon, in the sense that I change my colour to blend in with the background and situation.

I was never very good at - or - even very interested in explaining what I was doing

I am culturally literate, not culturally precious, I am influenced by everything I have ever heard. I am interested in iconoclasm and hybrids and not interested in staying ‘in genre’ and pretending authenticity and purity. I am interested in hybrids.

Behind the scenes, I enjoyed a secret place for making ‘private noise’ which began with collaborations with my sister Angela as a teenager in the early 1970’s, as I tried to re-construct the Beatle’s “Revolution # 9” and assemble ‘mock-Stockhausen’ sound stories. I was always impressed by the sense of ‘place/situation’ and ‘narrative/people’ in the Beatles Revolution #9 and the shape of sound as ‘time stood still’ in the work of Eno’s ‘Onland’ and Tangerine Dream’s ‘Zeit’.

I began working solo as A Cloakroom Assembly in the late 1970s at the same time as he co-founded M. Squared. Michael Tee describes A Cloakroom Assembly (aka ACRA) as a variety of 'sound story' projects and gentle ‘time stands still - machines’. In the eighties I ‘shared’ for a little while and he released 3 ACRA collections on limited edition cassettes on M Squared in 1982. True to it’s name a fourth release “Retreat” was withdrawn before release in 1983 and I retreated behind the ‘public noise’ of Ya Ya Choral.

After 1995 I retreated from the public noise and touring overseas, into family and academic life, yet still I was driven to assemble hours and hours of unreleased sound stories. The sound stories began increasingly longer, more as ‘time stands still – machines’. I would frequently break them down and recycle and re assemble and rebrand. The titles are unimportant. Some of this material is now available free on the internet as torrent files or compiled on low budget hand made mp3 editions for convenience.

I don’t reckon this sort of music has much of a market. Why waste money on producing hard copies. That’s why I usually give it away for free.

I do this for my own enjoyment, though I am surprised and happy that a small group of people appear to enjoy my current period of slow mrrky noise. I cannot imagine what sort of context people would listen to my sound stories. Though having said that I got an email from a person in Bulgaria the other day saying that he plays ACRA all day to help him create a space for thinking. So far, he had downloaded three hours of ACRA and “a series of throbs” was his favourite .... this is encouraging”

Elsewhere in Canada they think the new stuff sounds like old German space rock (pre sequencers or drum loaded kraut-rock) which is lovely – as I am a great fan of early Tangerine Dream and 1960s drone music. Perhaps the space tag comes because some of the ACRA pieces are named after not so obscure astronomical objects”

Who knows … maybe someday if there is enough interest I will release the hi –fi versions, but only if someone else wants to take the financial risk !

The Live Shows

In Late 2009, for the first time Michael will attempt to present some of the ‘private music’ in public dates TBA.

This coincides with other renewed public activity as part of 2 piece version of Scattered Order (with Mitch Jones) and he/said/she/said (with Fiona Graham) and all things associated with the MSquared label.

At the July 2009 ACRA gig, Tee will perform a hybrid of old and new in a sound story called “Territory and Population”. The ‘territory’ part refers to pre prepared noise beds while the ‘population’ part refers to the live playing, random/cut in voices and other ‘planned accidents’. He has assembled some video noise to go with the sound. A test run ‘live to laptop’ was released on the internet for free in March, to a positive response.

For your listening pleasure !!

But wait there’s more. Current ACRA material (as long pieces) in circulation free on the internet (in order of popularity i.e downloads and date of posting) ....

1) "Three Space Variations - Forgotten / x / v" 20 Apr 09
2) “One Night on Stanwell Park Beach” 17 Jan 09
3) Its Like a Test Pattern for Twinkle Stars 15 Jan 09
4) "The Ghosts of History evoke the great expectation/Machiato" 04 Feb 09
5) " a series of throbs and bleeps in c minor" 29 Mar 09
6) “HD 189733 b” 24 Jan 09
7) “.. we sleep while carnivale battles with lent” 08 Apr 09
8) "Territory and Beltane Jzzz" Live in the Studio 1/3/09" 07 Mar 09
9) "jzzbltn8" 19 Feb 09
10) "Unsettled 2 ... uneasy feelings suck my soul dry" 02 Apr 09
11) "Circa 1958-Variation on Discrete Music" 14 Jan 09
12) “... and through the mrrky darkness” 09 Apr 09
13) “GRB 080607A” 22 Feb 09
14) 'Little Species' 11 Feb 09
15) "Unsettled .. a time to call room service" 01 Apr 09
16) "Expandedpresentmindedness" 02 Mar 09
17) "Space Variation 4" 28/4/09 30 Apr 09
18) "Retreat Parts 13-17" 02 Feb 09
19) “Retreat Music” : Disc 2 of 2 15 May 09 (2009 edition)
20) “Retreat Music” : Disc 1 of 2 15 May 09 (2009 edition)
21) “Live to laptop in Narrabeen 5th June 09” 05 Jun 09

So far there are plans for releasing early ACRA material planned in Europe and Australia:

• mrrk+MRRK Vinyl Lp (from the M Squared Boxed set) “Pardon me for barging in like this” VOD Label (Germany)

• 4 tracks on the M Squared Sampler CD “Welcome to the world of metal tape technology” (Australia)

Email: Michael Tee at [email protected] or [email protected]

related torrents

Torrent name

health leech seeds Size

comments (0)

Main Menu