The Pop Group Y (1979) [FLAC]

  • Download 5x Faster
  • Download torrent
  • Direct Download
  • Rate this torrent +  |  -
The Pop Group Y (1979) [FLAC]

Download FREE And Anonymously

Torrent info

Name:The Pop Group Y (1979) [FLAC]

Total Size: 262.75 MB

Magnet: Magnet Link

Seeds: 0

Leechers: 0

Stream: Watch Full Movie @ Movie4u

Last Updated: 2016-07-19 22:49:24 (Update Now)

Torrent added: 2009-08-22 22:27:52

CyberGhost VPN For Torrents

Torrent Files List

01 - She Is Beyond Good And Evil.flac (Size: 262.75 MB) (Files: 13)

 01 - She Is Beyond Good And Evil.flac

22.41 MB

 02 - Thief Of Fire.flac

30.54 MB

 03 - Snowgirl.flac

20.40 MB

 04 - Blood Money.flac

17.75 MB

 05 - We Are Time.flac

44.33 MB

 06 - Savage Sea.flac

15.66 MB

 07 - Words Disobey Me.flac

20.95 MB


0.63 KB


8.84 KB

 Torrent downloaded from

0.05 KB

 10 - Don't Sell Your Dreams.flac

29.50 MB

 09 - The Boys From Brazil.flac

25.71 MB

 08 - Don't Call Me Pain.flac

35.48 MB


leech seeds

Torrent description

The Pop Group - Y (1979) FLAC

Label: Radarscope Records / Radar Records
Catalog#: SCANCD14
Format: CD
Country: UK
CD Released: 1996

Style: Industrial, Dub, Abstract

The Pop Group:
Gareth Sager, Bruce Smith, Mark Stewart, Simon Underwood, John Waddington

Engineer - Mike Dunne
Asst - Brian Gaylor
Studio - Ridge Farm

Producer - Dennis Blackbeard Bovell and The Pop Group


Bonus Track
01 She Is Beyond Good And Evil (3:23) (originally released as single)

Side A
02 Thief Of Fire (4:35)
03 Snowgirl (3:21)
04 Blood Money (2:57)
06 Savage Sea (3:02)
05 We Are Time (6:29)

Side B
07 Words Disobey Me (3:26)
08 Don't Call Me Pain (5:35)
09 The Boys From Brazil (4:16)
10 Don't Sell Your Dreams (6:39)

Ripping Lineage:
Power Mac G4 MDD / Drive 'HL-DT-ST' Model 'DVD-RW GCA-4020B' Revision 'D031'
Silver --> converted to WAV using xAct 1.59 (cdda2wav 2.01a32)
--> converted to FLAC8 with verify using xAct 1.59 (flac 1.1.3)

Customers review from
The Pop Group started in late 1970's Bristol (UK), inspired by the Sex Pistols but already looking way beyond punk to see how far their imaginations could take them. Produced by dub master Dennis Bovell (also responsible for producing the Slits' first album around the same time) and featuring a young Mark Springer on piano, "Y" fuses together elements from rock, reggae, dub, funk, jazz and who knows what else with bleakly poetic lyrics (and plenty of primal screaming) from vocalist Mark Stewart.

The first track on this reissue is actually their first single "She is beyond good and evil" which caused quite a stir at the time but sounds comparatively lightweight next to the album proper, which begins with "Thief of fire". Bovell's production is crucial. As well as harnessing the band's raw energy and ensuring that their predilection for extremes of volume and pitch never spirals out of control, he makes the whole thing sound like it was recorded in some sort of primordial echo chamber. "Snowgirl" is probably the most successful track, with its haunting theme and chaotic semi-improvised sequences seamlessly disintegrating into moments of quiet beauty, but it's all compelling, if uneasy listening.
The original lp included a large poster featuring a collage of images indicating the band's moral and ideological concerns, but it's the music which did the talking on this album. Unfortunately they never managed to recapture that initial spark on their few subsequent releases where the music became a vehicle for their often tedious political sloganeering (mind you, their manic single "We are all prostitutes" is also a personal favourite).

Of course the various members of the Pop Group went on to form a multitude of other, generally more lightweight groups like Pigbag, Maximum Joy, Rip Rig & Panic (featuring a young Neneh Cherry) etc. Stewart bucked this trend by continuing his journey into paranoia, despair and torment with albums like "Learning to cope with cowardice" (an excellent sequel to Y). Their experiments also influenced a new generation of Bristol musicians (Massive Attack, Tricky, Portishead etc) but you'll never hear anything that sounds quite like this.

Notes from naymandij
Track06(Savage Sea) came before Track05(We Are Time) on the original vinyl.

related torrents

Torrent name

health leech seeds Size

The Pop Group 320kbps

0 0 108.00 MB 0

comments (0)

Main Menu