Teddy Charles New Directions (APE+CUE)

  • Download 5x Faster
  • Download torrent
  • Direct Download
  • Rate this torrent +  |  -
Teddy Charles New Directions (APE+CUE)

Anonymous and Free Direct Download

Torrent info

Name:Teddy Charles New Directions (APE+CUE)

Total Size: 138.15 MB

Magnet: Magnet Link

Seeds: 1

Leechers: 29

Stream: Watch Online @ Movie4u

Last Updated: 2010-04-23 13:17:53 (Update Now)

Torrent added: 2008-10-28 08:38:16

VPN For Torrents

Torrent Files List

Cover (Size: 138.15 MB) (Files: 6)



359.25 KB


1.47 MB


1.54 MB


1.76 KB

 New Directions.ape

134.79 MB

 New Directions.cue

1.70 KB

Announce URL: http://tpb.tracker.thepiratebay.org:80/announce

Torrent description

Teddy Charles - New Directions (APE+CUE)

Please keep seeding as long as you can.

Vibraphonist Teddy Charles was turning people's heads when he recorded these tracks in the early 1950s. Originally released on one LP (entitled Teddy Charles and His Trio) and two EPs (both titled New Directions, one credited to the Teddy Charles Quartet and one to Teddy Charles, Hall Overton, and Ed Shaughnessy), these performances find him taking standards like "Ol' Man River" and "Basin Street Blues" down strange paths and creating unusually challenging "modern" music in collaboration with pianist and pedagogue Hall Overton. The trio that performs the first eight tracks consisted of Charles, guitarist Don Roberts, and bassist Kenny O'Brien; without a drummer, their sound is somewhat fragile, which doesn't benefit Charles's boppish arrangement of "Ol' Man River" but nicely serves his almost ethereal conception of "I'll Remember April." The last four tracks on this collection are the most interesting and challenging: titled "Mobiles," "Antiphony," "Metalizing," and "Decibels," they are compositions based on organizational concepts rather than melodic ideas and sound something like a cross between John Cage and Charles Mingus. Not everyone will love this stuff, but anyone with an interest in jazz theory and history will want to hear it at least once.

Personnel: Teddy Charles (vib) Hall Overton (p) Don Roberts, Jimmy Raney (g) Kenny O'Brien, Dick Nivison (b) Ed Shaughnessy (d)

Track Listings:
01 O'Brien's a Fly'n
02 This Is New
03 Ol' Man River
04 Tenderly
05 Basin Street Blues
06 I'll Remember April
07 The Lady Is a Tramp
08 Blue Moon
09 Edging Out
10 Nocturne
11 Composition for Four Pieces
12 A Night in Tunisia
13 Mobiles
14 Aniphony
15 Metalizing
16 Decibels

related torrents

Torrent name

health leech seeds Size

comments (0)

Main Menu