When you delete sensitive files from a disk on your computer, the operating system does
not erase the contents of these files from the disk - it only deletes 'references' to
these files from filesystem tables. The contents of all deleted files remain on the disk
and can easily be restored using any recovery utility.
Wiping is a term used to describe the process of shredding the contents of a file or disk
space. It is impossible to restore any data that has been properly wiped.
BCWipe software enables you to confidently erase files that can never be recovered by an
intruder. BCWipe complies with options to invoke either the US Department of Defence (DoD)
standard or the Peter Gutmann wiping scheme. You can also create and use your own
customized wiping scheme to wipe sensitive information from storage devices installed on