Coleman Hawkins The Hawk Flies High (APE+CUE)

  • Download 5x Faster
  • Download torrent
  • Direct Download
  • Rate this torrent +  |  -
Coleman Hawkins The Hawk Flies High (APE+CUE)

Anonymous and Free Direct Download

Torrent info

Name:Coleman Hawkins The Hawk Flies High (APE+CUE)

Total Size: 116.09 MB

Magnet: Magnet Link

Seeds: 0

Leechers: 0

Stream: Watch Online @ Movie4u

Last Updated: 2016-01-29 05:31:26 (Update Now)

Torrent added: 2008-08-27 06:56:43

VPN For Torrents

Torrent Files List

Cover (Size: 116.09 MB) (Files: 9)



1.82 MB


1.52 MB


2.76 MB


613.28 KB


2.17 MB


1.43 MB


1.65 KB

 The Hawk Flies High.ape

105.79 MB

 The Hawk Flies High.cue

0.73 KB


leech seeds

Torrent description

Coleman Hawkins - The Hawk Flies High (APE+CUE)

Please keep seeding as long as you can.

Coleman Hawkins' 1957 session for Riverside, aside from an oral documentary record in a short-lived series, was his only recording for the label under his name. Yet producer Orrin Keepnews had the good sense to invite the legendary tenor saxophonist to pick his own musicians, and Hawkins surprised him by asking for young boppers J.J. Johnson and Idrees Sulieman in addition to the potent rhythm section of Hank Jones, Oscar Pettiford, Barry Galbraith, and Jo Jones. The two days of sessions produced a number of strong performances, with Hawkins still very much at the top of his game, while both Johnson and Sulieman catch fire as well. Even though most of the focus was on new material contributed by the participants, the musicians quickly adapted to the unfamiliar music, especially the leader's old-fashioned swinger "Sancticity" (which sounds like it could have been part of Count Basie's repertoire) and the pianist's tightly woven bop vehicle "Chant." Hawkins was one of the great ballad interpreters, and his majestic performance of the standard "Laura" is no exception. The 2008 reissue in the Keepnews Collection series uncovered no previously unissued material, though expanded liner notes by the producer and improved 24-bit remastering make this edition an improvement over earlier versions.

Personnel: Coleman Hawkins (tenor saxophone); Idrees Sulieman (trumpet); J.J. Johnson (trombone); Hank Jones (piano); Barry Galbraith (guitar); Oscar Pettiford (bass); Jo Jones (drums).

Track Listing:
01 Chant
02 Juicy Fruit
03 Think Deep
04 Laura
05 Blue Lights
06 Sancticity

related torrents

Torrent name

health leech seeds Size

comments (0)

Main Menu